Walter L. Nagle music collection

Material Type
Manuscript music
1918 – 1943 Inclusive date(s)
Extent Units
linear feet
Nagle, Walter L. ()
Administrative/Biographical History
Walter L. Nagle was born November 11, 1886 in Cornwall, Pa. The details of his early life and music education are unknown, but his paternal grandfather, Frank, was apparently a musician in Lebanon County. Nagle served during World War I as a clarinetist in the 316th Ifantry Band of the 19th Division. He returned to Lebanon, Pa. after the war and would spent most of his remaining life there. Nagle composed and arranged music for several orchestras, played clarinet in the Perserverance Band and directed and played violin in the Academy of Music Orchestra. William Nagle died on March 11, 1969 at the Lebanon Veterans' Administration Hospital.
Scope and Content
Eleven manuscript orchestral compositions by Walter L. Nagle. The collection consists of the individual parts written for full orchestra but does not contain scores. Five of the compositions are dated and span 1918-1943. Danseuse (Frecnh Ballet Dance) was composed by Nagle in 1927 but not arranged for orchestra until 1939. Three of the compositions were arranged by others. Iron City March and A September Dream were arranged by J.J. Scull. Pearl of the Gardens was arranged by Frank Nagle.
System of Arrangement
The collection is arranged alphabetically by composition title.
Scores and parts